Tonga, officially the Kingdom of Tonga, is a sovereign state and an archipelago comprising 176 beautiful islands scattered over 700,000 square kilometres of the crystal clear Southern Pacific Ocean. 52 of these islands are inhabited and a population of just over 100,000 people are settled over the three main island groups, Tongatapu the largest of the three, Vava'u and the Ha'api Group.

Tonga is 'the place where time begins' perched just east of the International Dateline. Others, perhaps observing the pace of local life, call it the place where time stands still. Both statements are true in a way, as Tonga is an eclectic country where ancient traditions sit alongside the latest offerings of modern life.

Tonga is the only monarchy in the Pacific since Taufa'ahau (King George) in 1875 declared Tonga a constitutional monarchy, he also gave Tonga its founding Constitution, the second oldest in the world after the US Constitution (not bad, aye!). Tonga, once an empire, has never been conquered or run by a foreign power. Why? Because we put our faith in God, our people and our Kingdom!

Almost two-thirds of Tonga's population live on the main island Tongatapu, on which the capital city Nuku'alofa is located (and the majority of Kingdom Lager is consumed), so next time you feel like a real break and a change in pace, come visit our Kingdom and see for yourself.